South Carolina Sociological Association

South Carolina Sociological Association

Welcome to the South Carolina Sociological Association

About Us

See You Next Year!

Thanks for a great meeting in Charleston. We hope to see you in February 2018 for our next conference.

Carolina Undergraduate Social Science Symposium

April 6-7, 2017  

Sponsored by the South Carolina Sociological Association and Francis Marion University, Florence, SC.  The 2017 Carolina Undergraduate Social Science Symposium will be held at Francis Marion University in Florence, SC. The Symposium provides undergraduate students the opportunity to present their research at a professional meeting. Presentations in any area of social science are welcome. The conference will kick off with an exciting keynote address at 7 PM Thursday, April 6. Students whose papers are accepted will give a 10-12 minute presentation of their research on Friday, April 7.  All presenters will receive Certificates of Participation. The two best papers and two best posters will receive a Certificate for Excellence in Undergraduate Research and a cash prize.  

Application Procedure (deadline: Friday, March 24, 2017):

Interested students should email Dr. Jessica Burke ( the following items with the term “CUSSS” in the subject line:  An abstract (approximately 200 words) that reflects the general content of the paper or poster, author’s name, and institutional affiliation.  Please specify the presentation format: paper session or poster session.  Also specify the equipment that is desired for the presentation.  To participate in the paper competition, completed papers must be submitted electronically by Friday, March 31, 2017, to Dr. Alexander Lu ( To participate in the poster competition, email Dr. Lu by Friday, March 31, 2017, to declare your interest.  Papers or posters with multiple authors may be presented at the symposium. However, to be considered for competition, papers and posters must be single-authored.  A registration fee of $15.00 which includes lunch will be required for all participants (including accompanying professors and non-presenting students/attendees). Checks should be made payable to Francis Marion University.  For more information about CUSSS, please contact Dr. Jessica Burke at or (843) 661-1656. We hope to see you at Francis Marion University in April!


President: Brenda Vander Mey, Clemson University

President-Elect: Aristide Sechandice, Tri-County Technical College

Treasurer: Jessica Doucet, Francis Marion University

Secretary: Jessica Burke, Francis Marion University

Executive Board:

Mitchell Mackinem, Claflin University

Russell Ward, Francis Marion University

Sharon Wilkie, Bob Jones University

the South Carolina Sociological Association


Click on a file to download.